Please read the information below before submitting your entry.

The annual Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting honors investigative reporting that best promotes more effective and ethical conduct of government, the making of public policy, or the practice of politics. The winner receives $25,000, and five finalists receive $10,000. While the subject can address issues of foreign policy, a submission qualifies only if it has an impact on public policy in the United States at the national, regional or local level. Previous winners and finalists have come from a large variety of news organizations - national, local, large, small, print, broadcast, online, etc. and covered a broad array of topics. We encourage submissions from all kinds of news organizations - entry is free!

Wednesday, January 10, 2024, 11:59 pm E.T.

Rules and Criteria

  • Submissions will be accepted only from the U.S. news media.
  • Newspapers, magazines, broadcast media, radio, podcasts, and online news organizations are eligible.
  • Original broadcast or publication must have occurred between January 1, 2023 – December 31, 2023.
  • No more than TWO entries may be submitted by a news organization. If entries were produced in collaboration with another news organization, the lead news organization must submit the entry and list any secondary partner organizations/collaborators. If your organization is listed as a secondary partner/collaborator in an entry submitted by another news organization this does not count towards your two allowed entries.
  • Books will not be accepted as submissions for this prize.

How To Apply

  • Each submission must include a one-sentence summary of the entry, a brief description of the actual or potential impact of the investigative report, and a fuller description of how the story originated and comment on the reporting process.
  • Many entries include a series of articles on a particular topic. Please limit your submission to no more than 5 installments. Any supplemental sidebars and interactive or multimedia features do not count as installments and are permitted.
  • Applicants must answer all questions pertaining to newsroom size, story, and the outlet’s primary audience as accurately as possible.
  • The credited authors, titles of work and all other information must be finalized and accurate at the time of submission, as this information will be used in a press release if your entry is selected as a finalist.
  • Any corrections or clarifications added to the story after its initial publication must be clearly identified and explained.
  • Material must be submitted as a live URL and printer-friendly PDF:
  1. URL: Applicants are responsible for making sure the URL works outside of their organization. If entry content is behind a paywall, applicants must ensure judges are able to view it (e.g. by providing login details or creating private URL). URLs must remain active through at least May 2024. If an entry includes multiple articles/installments, please (where possible) include URL of a single landing page/index/playlist with access to all articles/installments. If your piece is selected as a finalist, you must provide a publicly viewable URL, or a PDF, that can be archived on the award website.
  2. PDF: Please combine all installments into a single printer-friendly PDF. Text material (newspaper, magazine, online news organizations) must be formatted in one column. Broadcast/video/audio submissions must include a PDF of the transcript. [You can find an example of a correctly formatted PDF here].

Please contact the Shorenstein Center: 

Lindsay Underwood:

Liz Schwartz:

Shorenstein Center Goldsmith Prize